ISTE Student Chapter

Indian Society for Technical Education(ISTE) Student Chapter

ISTE (Indian Society for Technical Education) student chapter GEC Barton Hill was awarded ‘The Best Emerging Chapter’ of  the Kerala section by the former Governor of Kerala Smt. Sheila Dixit on August 2014 at  the Annual state convention of ISTE, Querencia. The award was received by Anandu S B, chairman of  ISTE. First anniversary of the student chapter was celebrated on 11 september,2014. The strength of ISTE has grown from 5 to 604 members over the year. The unprecedented effort to give GECB her online technical newsletter and to introduce the Junior Professor scheme succeeded. The executive members of the chapter were instrumental in carrying out the Library verification in a short span of time and measures were taken to make the books available to students immediately.


Classes were engaged, by the final year students of the chapter, under the Junior Professor scheme for the students of S3 EC,S3 IT,S3 ME and S3 CE, which had helped them for their preparations for the university exams.


Anandu S B was awarded the BEST STUDENT award at the Annual State Convention of  ISTE, Querencia by Dr Shiela , Principal of CET. At Querencia, Geethu Sivakumar was adjudged the first prize for Web Designing. The team of Vishnu Sreekumar, Ronith Stanly and Bibin Sagaram was awarded the third place for the event ‘Best Engineer’.


A General Event ASK (Alternative for Sharing Knowledge) was organised on July 17-18 which had more than 23 student participants and the first prize was awarded to Joe Joseph Babu and Jayasankar N J (S4 ME) and the  second prize was secured by Archana and Merlyn (S4 EC). S6 Civil Engineering batch (carried out) made a field visit to POABS MSAND manufacturing unit at Aruvikara and the POABS ready mix concrete unit at Vattiyoorkavu on  19th of July 2014. Another general event ADZAP was organized by the chapter on August 29th  which had more than 50 participants. Winners were rewarded based on their ability to market a product.

Faculty in charge : Prof. Anoop SKM AP(IT)

Student Chairman : Anandu S B