Welcome to GECBH


A centre of higher learning in engineering that nurtures inquisitive young minds, fosters innovative research and reaches out to the society, while incessantly improving itself.

Impart Engineering knowledge and skills. Mould professional with integrity. Nurture the spirit of innovation,creativity and sustainability to address needs of society. Collaborate with industry,academic and research institutions of repute.

Government Engineering College, Barton Hill was established by the Government of Kerala in the academic year 1999-2000. Within a short span of twelve years since inception, the college has achieved notable academic excellence. The college is a listed to the University of Kerala. It is under the administrative control of the Director of Technical Education, Government of Kerala.

The college was established in the month of November 1999 on the land donated by His Highness Sri.Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma, the last ruling Maharaja of the princely State of Travancore. The college started its functioning in the buildings of the Barton Hill Girl’s High School, Kunnukuzhy which is now defunct. The first principal of the college was Prof. G.Jayasankar and Dr. Shaji Senadhipan  is the present principal of the college.


The college now offers  five full time B. Tech. degree courses and  Four full time M. Tech degree course. They are


  1. B. Tech in Electrical and Electronics Engineering


  1. B. Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering


  1. B. Tech in Information Technology


  1. B. Tech in Mechanical Engineering


  1. B. Tech in Civil Engineering
  1. M. Tech in Network Engineering


  1. M. Tech in Signal Processing


  1. M. Tech in Machine Design


  1. M. Tech in Power System and Control

The duration of the M. Tech programme is two years and of the B. Tech Programme is four years. As per the AICTE norms, the annual intake of PG course is eighteen and of each UG course is sixty.

The faculty members are from the pool of Professors, Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Department of Technical Education, who are arguably the best in the state. It is the same pool which provides the faculty to all the nine Government Engineering Colleges in the State. The 56 strong faculty team of the college consists of 19 Ph.D holders and 34 PG degree holders. Admission to the UG programmes to this college is done through the Common Admission Procedure (CAP) based solely on the rank secured in the Common Entrance Examination (CEE) conducted by the Government of Kerala. This college is the choice of the top rank holders of the CEE. Admission to the PG programme is done through the Centralised Admission Process by the Directorate of Technical Education. All the students need to pay the fees only at the Government rate.


The alumni of the college have already secured their places in the B. Tech. rank list of Kerala University and in the top sections of all India GATE rank lists. The alumni of the college have also secured admissions to top research institutions and business schools including foreign universities, IITs and IIMs . The placement record of the college has been phenomenal with majority of the students having received job offers to reputed firms from the campus itself.